RSS

DON’T STAY IN A SERBIAN HOTEL!!!

25 Jan

I get lots of emails from foreigners that are planning to travel to Serbia. They ask me lots of interesting questions. The number one suggestion I have for them if they are planning to stay for a month or longer is “DON’T WASTE YOUR MONEY ON A HOTEL!”

I found out last year that Serbs offer their homes to their guests. I was blown away by the amount of people that wanted me to stay in their home! They looked at me like a fool when I said “Where is the nearest hotel so I can put my things away?” hahaah.. They said ” YOU ARE NOT STAYING IN A HOTEL YOU ARE STAYING HERE!!!” If you are a private person and prefer to have your own space…. do not look for hotels. Look for an apartment!!! My friends mentioned that to me last year but I kept thinking ” How the hell can I get an apartment?” Back in the USA it’s a time consuming and expensive ordeal.. most of the time anyway…. You have to worry about saving up the security deposit, first and last months rent and usually sign a 6 month or 1 year contract! Then you have to have all of the utilities put in your name. It’s a pain!!!

After my awesome time at Exit Fest in Novi Sad…. we returned to Zrenjanin. I was in need of my own crib! The families I stayed with were amazing and in no hurry for me to leave but I felt it was time! My buddy and I picked up a little classifieds paper here and drank a few pivos while he translated the available apartments. We called on a few that were under $100 a month but they were behind someones home or inside their home. We finally called on one that was 100E a month. It was new, furnished, close to the center, with one large room, kitchen, balcony, quiet neighbors and on the 1st floor. My friend called the guy and he said ” you can come look at it today.” My friend said “Is it ok that he is an American?” He said ” It makes no difference to me.. i speak English.” We arrived and looked at the place.. It was perfect!! Clean and everything he said it was. I said ” How do I go about filling out the paperwork, switching utilities, and how much is the deposit and such?” He said ” You don’t need to do any of that. Just pay me 100E and here are the keys!” I was in shock! I paid him.. he showed me how to turn on the washer, heat, tv controls and such. It took me 5 minutes to find a nice apartment with no contract and only 100E for one month!  I can’t speak for Belgrade or Novi Sad but Zrenjanin is very, very affordable!!! My electric, water, and gas ran me about $40 or $50 bucks a month for this one bedroom!!! AWESOME!!!  Back home my electric was about $160 a month, water/sewer and trash were around $50, and  gas is outrageous…..

Search for apartments in the paper!!! IT WILL SAVE YOU HUNDREDS OF DOLLARS!!!!!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 25, 2012 in When in Serbia

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “DON’T STAY IN A SERBIAN HOTEL!!!

  1. Zeeca

    December 4, 2014 at 10:04 am

    Very nice post. It reminds us serbians why people love our country. Glad you had a nice time.
    I keep hearing serbian girls are beautiful and I always agree! Same thing for grandmas and food, EPIC . Grandmas sarma, pie and kiflice, yum!
    serbian people are very active, football and basketball are large here, our history is vibrant as is the culture found around Serbia has its own culture and accent.
    The historical monuments in Serbia are vast and exciting, there are artifacts found here are of the oldest cultures I the world (still waiting on a confirmation on that, the dig rescue try started), archeological site Lepenski vir would excite any history appreciating person as would the remains of the roman city Naissus in Niš or riding on the old roman road Via militaris to a town built on the remains of the roman city Remizijana. As for some recent history, I’ll leave that for you to explore, not everyone is that into history. those that are will not be disappointed.
    To finish on a nicer note, Serbia has beautiful nature, we’ll preserved and some villages which time forgot, still going about things like we used to 100s of years ago.
    My comment was here just to fill in the lovely written report by Alek. And hopefully inspire him to keep writing about the things I mentioned.
    Cheers man, I wish you many more fun travels.

     

Leave a comment