RSS

How to Avoid Irritating Serbian Grandmothers

17 Oct

One thing to expect when entering a Serbian home is to be offered a pair of house slippers! 🙂 I found this so funny! It didn’t matter if you were in the northern part of the country or the extreme southern part… if there is a grandmother in the house…. YOU BETTER TAKE THEM UP ON THE OFFER!

I have never owned a pair of house slippers and we never wore them growing up. I can’t remember going to a home in the US and using their house slippers to walk around in! 🙂 Maybe it is because many of our homes are carpeted. My grandmother and other old ladies would wear them, but not young men! Different story in Serbia. 🙂

I was invited to a friends birthday party in the little village of Krajisnik, Serbia. He lived with his grandmother and great grandmother. They had never seen or spoken to an American before. 🙂 The great grandmother was about 90 and so sweet. She kept speaking to me in Serbian and my friend would have to tell her over and over that I was American and didn’t speak Serbian. She kept using some foul language that I understood to tell him that she didn’t believe him. hahahahaha…I had to keep asking him to translate. She was telling me how one of her sons was perfect and handsome and the other was lazy and worthless. AHAHAHAH! The other thing she kept mentioning was my lack of slippers! She said it 3 or 4 times. She couldn’t walk very well, but she got up and got me a pair and placed them at my feet! 🙂 She was a doll! She also LOVED TITO!! HAHAHA.. My friend and his cousin would aggravate her by mentioning Boris Tadic. She wasn’t a fan of him! One thing is certain… Serbian grandmothers treat you like their own! She didn’t care if I was from America, next door, or Ethiopia … I was going to wear those slippers If I liked it or not!!!! 🙂

Put on the slippers when they are offered.. 🙂

 
17 Comments

Posted by on October 17, 2012 in When in Serbia

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

17 responses to “How to Avoid Irritating Serbian Grandmothers

  1. Kovacevic

    October 17, 2012 at 6:12 pm

    Just epic 😀

     
    • cather76

      October 17, 2012 at 7:55 pm

      hah.. thanks for reading, my friend

       
  2. Zmaj

    October 17, 2012 at 9:37 pm

    🙂
    You just put a big smile on my face with this little pearl of a story.
    Thank you.

     
    • cather76

      October 19, 2012 at 8:19 pm

      🙂 happy to hear that.. thank you for reading.. glad you enjoyed it..

       
  3. Dejan

    October 21, 2012 at 1:31 am

    Hey Charles….. you are the man!!! :)) Thumbs up!

     
    • cather76

      October 26, 2012 at 4:24 pm

      thanks, my friend…

       
  4. Stanja

    January 23, 2013 at 8:02 am

    So true!!! Hahahahaha
    Grandma’s are the best!!!
    Cheers from Sydney

     
  5. Pavle

    February 3, 2013 at 2:38 pm

    great read! Greetings from Sweden!

     
    • cather76

      April 10, 2013 at 11:52 pm

      hvala puno, my friend… 🙂 thanks for spenind your time over here…

       
    • cather76

      April 10, 2013 at 11:53 pm

      opps… thanks for spending your time over here on my page.. 🙂 pozdrav

       
  6. Iva

    February 12, 2013 at 5:32 pm

    Wow thats the first nice thing i heard about Serbia! My grandma is like that too. Its bcs old ppl think of our health. You have to get your feets worm! :-).I guess wearing slippers is one thing we got in common with Japanese. Pozdrav iz Srbije! :-))))

     
    • cather76

      April 10, 2013 at 11:51 pm

      🙂 thanks for reading… gotta love grandmothers…

       
  7. Milena

    March 24, 2013 at 3:16 am

    Haha…this made me smile! When I was younger it used to be embarrass me so much when grandma used to do this…in New Zealand!!

     
  8. Damien

    April 17, 2013 at 11:39 pm

    LoL
    Well… I must say that I have never owned a pair of house slippers, neither I know anyone who did.
    (And, believe it or not, I do live in Serbia 🙂 )
    Anyway, great story, great blog.

     
  9. Diana

    June 7, 2013 at 2:31 pm

    Just like my Grandma. She is Serbian. If I’m on bare feet she imediately gets me some slippers or selfknitted soks.

    And I HAVE to keep my coat closed all the time. And wear a scarf and hat when she thinks it is cold Haha

     
  10. Roberto Miguel Barodte

    February 18, 2014 at 10:08 pm

    Mi nombre es Roberto Barodte y mi papa era Miguel Barodte y nació en Krajisnik pero el siempre
    decía que era Stefansfeld mi papa nació en 1928 y vino a la Argentina después de la segunda guerra me gustaría tener mas información del pueblo gracias

     

Leave a comment