RSS

Drinking Zova Sok in Grocka, Serbia

18 Jun

41189290

My friend invited me over to his house for a cook out in a little place called Grocka, Serbia. We ate some fantastic Serbian food!!!! One of the best things that I tried was liver that was wrapped in bacon!!!

liver wrapped in bacon that was cooked on the grill.. YUMMY

liver wrapped in bacon that was cooked on the grill.. YUMMY

I have always loved liver and when it is cooked on the grill with bacon… OMG!!! I AM IN HEAVEN!!!! We also  sipped on some homemade apricot rakija, gossiped with the neighbors and had a gorgeous view of Grocka, Serbia.

Grocka, Serbia

Grocka, Serbia

Grocka is a little municipality that is part of Belgrade. It takes about 40 minutes by bus to get there and has that little hometown feel to it. Everyone seems to know each other.  The area is GORGEOUS!! You are surrounded by nature! The second you get south of Belgrade the ground starts rising and the trees start sprouting up towards the sky. My buddy had a big backyard that was filled with grapevines, apple and plum trees and this cherry tree that was overflowing with cherries!

his tree was filled with cherries

his tree was filled with cherries

My two buddies took me out on the town that night. We had full stomachs, but were ready to throw down a few pivos. 🙂 I love making Serbian words plural by adding the “S”. 😀 We played some pool, drank some beer on this beautiful boat bar and sat in the park chatting with some of his friends. It was a very enjoyable and relaxing evening. My buddy gave me his room to sleep in. I laid down and was out until 11AM the next morning. I slept so well! You couldn’t hear a sound from his room. The only sounds were the many birds that were nesting in the many fruit trees that surrounded the area.

images (1)

The night after drinking I am usually very dehydrated. My buddy asked me if I had ever had something called ZOVA SOK. I hadn’t heard of it before. His mother went to Google to find out the translation of ZOVA. It turned out to be an elderberry.

ripe elderberry

ripe elderberry

My mother used to pick them in the fall and make jelly out of them.

She poured me a glass of it. It was great! It had a fruity taste and was very refreshing. They say that ZOVA SOK is good for cleansing your blood, helps with breathing problems, lowers a high fever and many other ailments. The odd part about the juice was that it didn’t come from the ripened berry , but from the flower of the elderberry! I was drinking flower juice! 🙂

Here is the recipe…….
http://srbijanatanjiru.com/sirup-od-zove-sok-od-zove-ili-napitak-od-zove/

  • 30-50 elderberry flowers
  • 5 liters of water
  • 30 grams of LIMUNTUS…. (see picture below)
  • 5kg of sugar

    limuntus-10-g

Directions….

  1. Carefully wash flowers to keep as much pollen on as possible
  2. put flowers in a large pot with 5 liters of water and gently mix
  3. cover and let stand for 24 hours
  4. remove flowers, add sugar, stir and let stand 24 more hours
  5. stir sugar every few hours to help it dissolve
  6. pour through a strainer into a bottle

Syrup mixed with water to scale taste. Our recommendation is 1:5.

After drinking our fill of this unique drink we headed to bus station. My time in Grocka was over for now. I will be returning soon!! It is a great place to let down your hair, lower your blood pressure and see some beautiful nature.

It seems that I experience something unique and wonderful everyday I am in this country! You must add Serbia to your list of future vacation destinations. Experience life like it should be!  JA VOLIM SRBIJU!

Join us at Say Serbia. We are growing fast!! 🙂 http://www.sayserbia.com/

 

 
8 Comments

Posted by on June 18, 2013 in Through my eyes

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Drinking Zova Sok in Grocka, Serbia

  1. Mladen

    June 18, 2013 at 2:59 pm

    Beautiful really. 😀

     
    • cather76

      June 18, 2013 at 4:23 pm

      thanks for reading, my friend…

       
  2. Слободан човек

    June 18, 2013 at 3:06 pm

    You should try Boza, too. I don’t think you have it in the states.

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boza

     
    • Слободан човек

      June 18, 2013 at 3:10 pm

      And you drink it cold.

       
    • cather76

      June 18, 2013 at 4:23 pm

      thanks… never heard of it.. i will have to try it

       
      • Sergio

        June 19, 2013 at 3:19 pm

        You must drink more Serbian Rakia Slivovitz (srpska rakija šljivovica). 😀 It’s the best plum alcohol drink in our galaxy.

        Star Trek TNG – A Bottle of Slivovitz.

         
      • cather76

        June 20, 2013 at 5:37 pm

        ahahah. thanks for this.. i didn’t know he drank it..

         
  3. Alex

    June 21, 2013 at 6:43 am

    I always thought that drinking Zova juice will make a man impotent! Or is it just a folk tale… I can’t risk it. You wont see me drinking that hehe!

     

Leave a Reply

 
