RSS

What the Heck is a Kotlic?

16 Apr

Kotlic... :)

Kotlic… 🙂

I love food and it is really starting to show! I thought I would have shed a few pounds after my 20+ km trek from Ruma to Sremska Mitrovica , BUT NO!!! I am still hovering around 93kg! -__-

My buddy kept telling me about something called a kotlic. The way he pronounced it made it sound like cartilage.  UGH!

The day was absolutely gorgeous. The sun was out, the temperature was in the middle 60’s, and I spent the afternoon in a little outdoor cafe Skyping with some old friends and writing a little story in my blog. Milos was out purchasing some things for a kotlic.

I arrived back at his house around 7PM. My buddy, Aleksa, saw me walking along the street and picked up on his little motorbike. I didn’t have a jacket and he threw me one he had in the back. 🙂 We headed over to Milos’s house. We walked into the backyard and there it was!!! That was a kotlic. It is a little pot that sits on a tripod over an open flame.

The pot was already steaming. He had placed some onions, etc in there. It smelled great! A few minutes later a couple of his buddies arrived. They are all members of the Alpha Romeo Club here in Mitrovica. Here is the link to the club if you are interested http://www.facebook.com/alfisti.srem?fref=ts

 

They brought some pivo and my buddy had purchased a bottle of jabuka/apple rakija. We sat around for a few hours drinking beers, rakija, and shooting the breeze about every topic known to man. One of the guys spoke English perfectly and told me he hadn’t spoken or had classes since primary school! 😮 WOW!! How do people remember a foreign language when they never use it!? The other guy was telling about his job in the shipyard. I was assuming it was a good paying job  but he told me his salary and I about fell over. Companies are using Serbians to make huge profits while paying slave wages!!!! Where is your government??? This needs to be stopped! He told me the same thing that Serbians all over Serbia have told me about……… their paycheck is almost always weeks late! He said payday will come and they say that they don’t have the cash to pay him at this time. DAMN!!! I can’t imagine this happening in the US. I would love to see a Serbian politician get behind the workers here and do something! I am frustrated and It isn’t even happening to me!

Chilling out!

Chilling out!

When is this food going to be finished???? We have sat here for hours while this stew is brewing!! I am starving. I ask Milos about it and he hasn’t even put in the meat yet!!!!!! WTF? He throws it in and tells me it will be finished in 30 minutes! Serbian food and drinks are all about socializing! I think it is a great culture! Get a group of friends together with some great drinks and just chill! It reminds me of my younger years in Illinois. We would go out and buy a few 30 packs and get some steaks, burgers and hot dogs and have a blast!

The food is finally done! WOW!! This dish smells nice, looks great, and the taste is fantastic. Milos loves his spicy stuff! You can cook anything from beans to goulash in this pot…. Here is a quick recipe for our choice that can feed 6 people:

Serbian Goulash (Corbanjac)

  • 0.7-1kg of onion finely chopped
  • a few carrots finely chopped
  • a couple cups of water
  • (place these in the pot to simmer while you are peeling your potatoes)
  • 1.5kg of potatoes cut into 1cm X 1cm cubes
  • when your onions and carrots start getting a bit mushy, add in the potatoes.
  • let it cook. the longer you cook it the better it gets. it is all about sitting back, relaxing, drinking a few pivos, etc
  • pork… add in as much pork as you like. cut it into small cubes.
  • when the potatoes are mushy you can add the pork into the pot.
  • add  1 liter of tomato sauce
  • black pepper around 10-15 grams
  • add red pepper around 7 grams
  • add 1 or 2 tiny chopped chili peppers
  • add  3-4 grams of Caraway seeds
  • add around 10 grams of Oregano
  • if you have Vegeta in your country add around 15-20gr
  • Vegeta is a mix of spices with salt, like garlic,onion
  • if not than add regular salt

  • after you add the spices wait around 30 min then take it off the fire and serve it… PRIJATNO 🙂

 ugh…. one more thing you can add spices by your own taste..I like it spicy  and hot so my mixture of spices might be too much for some of you !

 

big chunk of bread, kajmak, green onions, apple rakija and goulash!!! Life can't get any better!

big chunk of bread, kajmak, green onions, apple rakija and goulash!!! Life can’t get any better!

 

It is always best served with a HUGE chunk of bread, kajmak, green onion and a bit of rakija!

You are guaranteed to have a great time!!! If you drink enough….. everything tastes good! 😉

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 16, 2013 in Through my eyes

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “What the Heck is a Kotlic?

  1. Слободан

    April 16, 2013 at 5:02 pm

    He he, where is our government?… You do realize that our economy and finances are run by BND agent and an economic hitman Mladjan Dinkić for over a decade?…

     
  2. Marlene Kern

    April 16, 2013 at 11:06 pm

    Ha! Anything tastes good if you’re hungry enough! lol

     
  3. Zmaj

    April 17, 2013 at 2:08 am

    “HUGE chunk of bread” 🙂 🙂 🙂 just can’t run away from it. 🙂 🙂 🙂 It’s everywhere you turn around,chasing you..hating them and wanting some more at the same time.Curse of the bread 🙂 :)Those big bread slices are your destiny while in Serbia.Like those dogs you can’t get rid of. 🙂 🙂 🙂 :).

     
  4. Branislav

    April 28, 2013 at 11:13 am

    ahah…you had a great day i see but that kajmak is not really a kajmak like it says on cover “ALA kajmak” that means similar(believe me its not even close).Thats only i have to say maybe you already ate some real home-made kajmak.I like your stories(i do follow YT mostly)..btw i am from Belgrade,but my parents are not born here so i am very familiar with south and all that comes with it(great home-made cheese you schould try,never heard you mention,i like fresh some ppl older..question of taste).Sorry about bad english,well i am still teenage learning english on internet,thats how he helped me(in school we have good teacher but you would blow the place with some story that probably few would understand)…Wish you all good and keep up.. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
