RSS

Fire Truck and Fire Equipment for Serbia!

14 Dec

Feuerwehrmann_beim_Brand_einer_Muelldeponie

 

Thanks to all of you for sticking with me. I have been extremely busy down here in Mexico. You probably have noticed my lack of posts the last few months. I appreciate all the messages you continue to send me. It really means a lot. 🙂

I was sitting here on my Mexican porch one morning reading my messages… My old buddy, Dejan M, had messaged me about the fire department in Nis, Serbia. He is a head of the volunteer crew down there. He was telling me about their lack of decent equipment. What little they have is torn, in bad shape, or obsolete. I told him that I would write to some places and contact some of the local fire stations in my hometown and others in my area. I contacted a number of departments. They said they would look around and see what they could do. THEN…. I ran into a WONDERFUL human being… Haydn… from Manchester, England. He is a fire man and a volunteer at one of the most amazing organizations on the planet….. Operation Florian!!!

26304_107116719308902_6325293_n

Operation Florian is a U.K charity organization that was founded in 1995. Their mission  “Working to promote the protection of life amongst communities in need, worldwide, by the provision of equipment and training to improve fire fighting and rescue capabilities.” The organization has donated tons of fire equipment, fire trucks, provided thousands of hours of training to help save lives in countries that have little funding for these services. Please take a moment to check out their website at http://www.operationflorian.com and hit LIKE on their Facebook page at http://www.facebook.com/OperationFlorian

Back to the story…. I told Haydn about the struggle down in Nis, Serbia. He quickly offered to assist them with some much-needed equipment and training. He is also in the process of donating a fire truck to a small town in Serbia!!! It is great to know that people still care for others!! I love to find people like Haydn. It gives me a glimmer of hope for mankind. 🙂

396287_534558289907441_530570633_n

He recently contacted me looking for assistance. He is having a VERY DIFFICULT time finding someone who can assist with an “exemption for rescue vehicles form”. This form allows them to ship the fire truck to Serbia without converting the steering column from right to left. It is VERY important that he has this form. Can anyone help?? I spent hours emailing every Serbian government agency I could think of. I have received ZERO response. I also posted on my Facebook page and have gotten very little feedback. 😦 PLEASE SPREAD THE WORD!!! You can reach Haydn at hbmb79@gmail.com. If you know of anyone that could assist please contact him or I! Governments make it so difficult to donate! That is why so few people take the time to organize it.

In Serbian:

“Srbi..Treba mi pomoć. Moj prijatelj iz Niša je vatrogasac i rekao mi je da su u manjku sa prikladnom opremom. Pisao sam na par mesta i nasao predivnu organizaciju iz Ujedinjenog Kraljestva . Veoma dobrodusan covek se ponudio da pomogne nisu u vidu donacija veoma potrebne opreme za vatrogasce. Oni takodje doniraju vatrogasni kamion u drugo srpsko selo ali imaju VELIKI PROBLEM, on mi je rekao da ne može da stupi u kontakt s pravim ljudima na pravom mestu pa sam ja pokusao da kontaktiram neke ljude i nisam imao srece u tome . On mora da nadje formular za izuzeće vozila za hitne slucajeve . Ovo će im dozvoliti da pošalju kamion u Srbiju bez promene strane volana sa desne na levu stranu . Oni se nerviraju zbog manjka podrske . NE ŽELIM DA DAJU KAMION NEKOJ DRUGOJ ZEMLJI!!!! Da li može iko da pomogne pri ovome i da kaže neke korisne informacije?? MOLIM VAS!!!”

The world is filled with great people!!! THANK YOU OPERATION FLORIAN and your wonderful volunteers like Haydn!!!!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on December 14, 2012 in Through my eyes

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Fire Truck and Fire Equipment for Serbia!

  1. Mihajlo

    December 15, 2012 at 2:00 am

    Thank you Charles Cather.You gave us strength and will to carry on and keep doing the job we love.We didn`t have the right equipment so we began to lose hope someone is gonna help us….but then you and Haydn came and did something wonderful.Thank you guys!

    Volunteer firefighter from Nis

    Хвала, Charles Cather. Дао си нам снаге и воље да наставимо да радимо посао који волимо. Нисмо имали одговарајућу опрему и почели смо да губимо наду да ће нам неко помоћи …. али онда сте ти и Хајдн дошли и дали сте нешто предивно.Хвала момци!

    Добровољни ватрогасац из Ниша.

     
    • cather76

      December 17, 2012 at 6:40 pm

      Nema na cemu… 🙂 Glad to help spread the word… Haydn is a GODSEND… Hvala puno for risking your life to help others.. 🙂

       
  2. Milagro President

    December 18, 2012 at 6:24 am

    Not what I was hunting for but wonderful anyway! Good for you!

     
    • cather76

      January 2, 2013 at 7:52 am

      hvala puno.. thanks for reading, my friend…

       
  3. Twitter

    February 2, 2013 at 7:30 am

    You really make it appear really easy along with your presentation but I in finding this matter to be really one
    thing that I think I’d by no means understand. It seems too complex and very broad for me. I am having a look ahead to your subsequent post, I’ll try to get the dangle of it!

     

Leave a Reply

 
