RSS

Serbs Who Perished in the 9-11 Attacks

11 Sep

If someone were to ask me which past event has etched itself in my memory the most… it would be the horrible attacks of 9-11. I was working 2nd shift at Stevens Ind in Teutopolis, IL as a manger for a furniture brand. I was laying in bed at 8AM when the phone rang. It was my father. He said ” Are you watching tv?” I said “NO, I am in bed.” He said ” Turn it to CNN! Some country has just bombed New York City!” I about fell out of bed! I turned on the tv and called all my friends. I called my boss at work and said I would not be in that evening. I went to a friend’s house and we sat by the tv wondering what was next. We drove to the little town of Toledo, IL to get some beer. The lines at the gas station where HUGE!! The price was ticking up at an alarming rate! It seemed that things were in chaos! Scary time for all of us.

The world is filled with many differing opinions as to what happened on that day. I am a Liberal Democrat and despised George W Bush, but I could never fully believe that him or any other member of my government had something to do with it. I think it had more to do with those higher than the president. Enough said… In these dastardly attacks almost 3000 innocent people lost their lives. Over 70 countries claim to have lost citizens in this attack, Serbia included.

Vladimir on the left and Bojan on the right.

Vladimir Tomasevic and Bojan Kostic were two Serbs who lost their lives on September 11th, 2001. Vladimir Tomasevic, 36, played in the Yugoslav tennis league and coached tennis as a  way to pay for his masters degree in electrical engineering. His career led him to be vice-president of software company,Optus e-Business Solutions. They were on the 106th floor of the north tower for a conference that day. The company issued a statement about the loss of Vladimir “He would have been standing back and helping others get out.”

Bojan Kostic, 34, was born in Belgrade. He moved to the USA in the middle 80’s to study. He met the woman of his dreams, Susanna Ferm. He had fallen for her so much that he asked her to move in with him after their first date. Three weeks later, she did.

Bojan worked as a Sales Trader and would arrive at 6am each morning. The evening before 9/11, Susanna quizzed him for his citizenship test which he was eagerly anticipating. He got the questions right. “He was ready”, said Susanna.

Any attack around the world that kills innocent people is a horrible thing. They are all equally horrible and should be condemned by all! The responsible should be punished to the highest extent of the law. Let’s all take a moment and think of those that have perished in this attack and for their loved ones whose lives are forever changed.  R.I.P.

THANKS TO THE “BRITIC” MAGAZINE FOR THE INFO..

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 11, 2012 in Through my eyes

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Serbs Who Perished in the 9-11 Attacks

  1. ParadoxGentleman

    September 11, 2012 at 6:35 pm

    What about USA government killing innocent people? What about 0ver 2000 Serbs killed during bombing? and over 5000 killed in Kosovo?

    And one more thing, I agree whit you that is no good for any innocent people to loose their lives, but I dodn`t agree whit you about involment on USA government in the 9/11 attack, and why you may ask!? Well, as an engineer it insults my knowledge and logic the official report of how those buildins were torn down!

    And if you dodn`t belive me then ask your self one question and try to give answer to it ” How is it possible that WTC1, WTC2 fall down in almost rate of free fall? But whit facts that those building were made of steel. And how the hell did WTC7 (or best known as building7) fall at exactly the same way even if is not hit by a plane”

    Peace out! 🙂

     
  2. Dimitrije

    September 12, 2012 at 4:57 pm

    Awful day that was. Very nice of you to make this thread Charles.

     
  3. Stefan

    January 21, 2013 at 1:10 am

    Great post !!! You are awesome ! You can visit Kosovo too !

     
    • cather76

      January 21, 2013 at 1:30 am

      hvala puno! thanks for checking out my blog

       

Leave a Reply

 
