RSS

Two More Foreigners With Serbian Stories

30 Aug

I get all kinds of messages! I need to post more of them on here! Here are a few great travel stories from foreigners that traveled to Serbia and hated to leave!!!!

 

This is a fellow North American that contacted me after reading my blog. THANKS RYAN!!! GREAT STORY!!!!!

As I glided up the elevator at the Tesla airport, a few hundred dinars flew out of my pocket and I did not notice. As I continued out towards the taxi platform, a airport worker stopped me and returned my money he had picked up. I knew this was a sign that my stay in Serbia would be great and this was my first introduction to the amazing generosity of the Serbian people.
I took a bus out to Novi Sad where I was greeted by my friend Milan (who I grew up with in North America) and his family. His family welcomed me like I was one of their own. They took my bags, his grandmother gave me a kiss,the rakia was poured and I started to eat one of the most amazing meals of my life full of Ćevapi and other Serbian dishes.
The love and warmth I felt from these people was amazing. Coming from North America, it is safe to say the amount of consumption and excess is overwhelming. Also, the concept of family is often times pushed aside for personal aspirations. In Serbia, you are reminded of what is truly important: spending time with family and close friends. This is what made the biggest impact on me while I was in Serbia. To see how close families are and how generous they are towards each other was humbling and helped me realize that spending time with people who are close to you is truly the richest experience of all.
The generosity of the Serbian people was felt throughout my whole trip. I attended Exit Festival at the Petrovaradin Fortress and met many Serbs from all over the country. They wanted to make sure I was having a great time and experiencing the “real” Serbia as it is often mis-repersented in the media and popular culture. Every Serbian I met wanted to feed me, show me around the city and offered me to stay with them, something that you do not experience everyday in North America. As Charles always points out, this generosity is what makes Serbia one of the most amazing places on the planet.
 
I was also impressed with Serbians understanding of their history. Every Serbian will give you an in-depth history lesson on their country. There is no need to pay for a guided tour since every citizen is well educated on their roots. It was amazing to have a Pivo and sit back and listen to young and old tell stories of Serbia’s past and present. 
I felt compelled to reach out to Charles because what he is doing is important. He is encouraging people from all over the world to visit Serbia and see how amazing the people are. It is the people  that make this country what it is, I cant stop telling all my friends about it. 
 
Similar to my experience, Charles realizes how amazing this generosity is. I was happy to share my experience on his site because I feel it is important to explain to the rest of the world the warmth and a sense of home that is created for visitors in Serbia. I plan on returning because I feel Serbia is like my home away from home now. I encourage all travelers to make a stop here or to reach out to Charles for some advice before you go. “

The next one is from a wonderful Polish gal!!!! Great story!!! She hated to leave Serbia!!! Thanks girl!!!!

” Hi Charles,

I am from Poland. My parents and friends had the same reaction as yours. My friends thought it was dangerous and my parents even thought it was the 3rd world.
Man you’re amazing with this Serbia stuff! I’d like to live in Serbia like you, but I’m not so brave like you and I’m too close with my family to go abroad. And you know, how my parents, they doesn’t want to let their only doughter to go 😉 and no future for me there, I study weird stuff on my university 😉 But I miss Serbia so so so so much, this Burek and Pljeskavica, my serbian friends (especially one) and streets of Loznica and Novi Sad!!! And lovely time with Drina and a lot of sun !!!  You won’t believe but we have only one bus from Poland to Serbia! One bus once a week. They’re crazy. I want Serbia closer, I felt in love. :)”
 
8 Comments

Posted by on August 30, 2012 in What others think

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Two More Foreigners With Serbian Stories

  1. Greg S

    August 30, 2012 at 9:29 pm

    I was introduced to your blog through our Serbian foreign exchange student, Danijela. Our perceptions of Serbia were very wrong, however we are happily delighted to get to know this country through your blog and Danijela’s eyes. When she arrived two weeks ago, I thought she was an exceptional teenager but find she may be “just” a typical Serb. She is very well educated has the same hopes and desires as kids do in America. We are enjoying every minute and enjoy the history lessons a great deal.

     
    • cather76

      September 1, 2012 at 12:46 am

      i loved your post… i appreciate it.. i used it on my facebook page! tell her, Zdravo for me.. i lived in Serbia for 11 months and we be heading back in a few months!!! you should visit!! you will love it!

       
  2. Patka

    September 1, 2012 at 11:31 pm

    O, if I’d know that you will public it I would make less mistakes 😛 and maybe I’d write something more 🙂 anyway thatnks for everything Charles and I hope one day I will see you in some polish city! And more serbs should visit us!! We have even days of serbian culture, and a lot of days common with Serbia (for example every year we protest for Kosovo in few polish cities). So everyone is welcome here!!! 🙂

     
  3. NIkola Vlajkovic

    March 29, 2013 at 12:54 am

    Patka thank you and Polish ppl for suporting Serbia,i hope you know that a lot of ppl here love Poland,i hope someday i will visit Polan.

     
  4. neice

    March 31, 2014 at 11:31 am

    After living three years in Serbia as a foreigner I am home in Australia now but carry the values that I learned from the Serbian people with me everyday forever. I learned more in those years living in Serbia than I have in my entire life before that. I am a more honest and mentally stronger person and this allows me to be there for my family and my children. I am always interested in other foreigners who live in Serbia because they choose to. I feel torn between a life in a village working for an honest living and living here in Australia because it is considered ‘normal’.???

     
  5. Natalie Kolodziejczyk Smalley

    January 10, 2015 at 9:37 pm

    Hi I am leaving this message in the hope that maybe somebody may be able to help me. I am looking for my Grandfather, all we know is that my Polish Grandmother was in a Place called vierden near Sittenssen in Germany in 1940-41 as a forced labourer on a farm that was owned by Peter Behrens and she supposedly fell pregnant by a Serbian who worked on the farm who was called Drago, he was a prisoner of war. My Grandmother went back to Poland to give birth to my father then returned to another part of Germany called Celle eventually ending up in England. I have no more information than that with regards to Drago. Any help would be so gratefully appreciated, we have been searching for about 15 years. Many Thanks
    Kind Regards
    Natalie Kolodziejczyk Smalley

     
    • cather76

      January 10, 2015 at 9:51 pm

      I will do my very best to share your message with my thousands of Facebook followers. Unfortunately the name “Drago” is widely used 😦 I promise to pass on any promising leads.. Best of luck to you and your family!

       
  6. Carlos Deangelo

    August 5, 2016 at 3:32 am

    Drago is my nickname means: I am happy to OR I am glad to.
    However, Serbia is a Eastern European Slavic country, but a very affordable western style country that has best of all three worlds. Close to Western Europe, Close to Russia, and a small jump by plane toMiddle-East and Africa.

     

Leave a Reply

 
