RSS

TOTAL FRUSTRATION!!!

14 May

 I have been  living in Serbia for 10 months and 10 days. Every time I speak to a friend back home or overseas they ask me the same question.  “DO YOU SPEAK SERBIAN YET?” My answer is always the same!!!! “HELL NO! It’s considered one of the 5th hardest languages in the world!!!” That excuse has finally worn out!!!! hahahahaha

I am a little odd. Traveling to a country where I understand NOTHING is a HUGE rush for me! Most people in their right mind would never do it alone. I have never claimed to be smart or even slightly intelligent. I just like to live a fun and entertaining life until my liver, kidneys or heart gives out! 🙂

 I remember when I told my mom and dad that I was going to move to Serbia. My father told me that if it wasn’t for mom keeping him in Central Illinois  he would have moved to Brazil back in the early 80’s. My father is a farmer in Central Illinois. He also has a construction company and builds residential homes. He had thought about and was very close to purchasing some farm ground down in Brazil. The farm ground was very cheap back in the 80’s and in that climate you can harvest two crops of soybeans and corn as opposed to one in Illinois. Mom is the opposite. She has more “roots” to the small Cumberland county community. She couldn’t imagine someone wanting to travel to a land where they don’t speak our language and you don’t know anyone. I remember them and others asking me ..“Why would you even think about moving to a country where they don’t speak English and you don’t speak their language!” I always answer “Most Serbians under 30 speak or understand English.” People are amazed at that. I will never say anything negative about Mexico because living there for 10 months was one of the greatest experiences of my life but English is not as common there as it is in Serbia! Serbia is currently requiring English in primary school! The level of English knowledge from the younger generation is AMAZING! The kids all tell me that they learned most of their English from watching American cartoons! 🙂 The USA is a very diverse nation and needs to get on board with other countries and require Spanish or another foreign language in primary and secondary school! I just visited the gymnasium school in Nis. The kids are amazing. A few of them told me that they are studying English, Latin, French and German!!!!!!!!! OMG!!! That blows me away! The first chance we had to take a foreign language was in high school! The younger you learn a language the easier it is to pick up others! My friend from New Zealand pointed out this problem in his country too.

To sum it up….. I do enjoy traveling to a foreign country and not understanding anything but after 10 months…. IT GETS OLD!!! I really need to get my ass in gear and learn more Serbian. My friends all speak English perfectly… so I don’t get too many opportunities to speak Serbian! I live in an apartment behind my buddies grandpa’s house. The family here is so kind but they speak ZERO English. The grandmother, grandfather, aunt and mother live here and are so helpful to me! They bring me food, blankets and i think the grandmother offered to do my laundry but wasn’t sure. I really wish I could communicate with them. Nothing is worse than saying “NE RAZUMEM NISTA!” ahahhahaha… ITS TIME TO GET SERIOUS WITH MY SERBIAN!! 

 
12 Comments

Posted by on May 14, 2012 in Through my eyes

 

Tags: , , , , ,

12 responses to “TOTAL FRUSTRATION!!!

  1. Dzoni

    May 14, 2012 at 7:26 pm

    Do you live in Zrenjanin or Nis now?

     
    • cather76

      May 14, 2012 at 7:27 pm

      I am going to be in Nis for a month!!! i love it!!!

       
  2. Milena Aleksandrović

    May 14, 2012 at 7:51 pm

    Charles, I could hear that you pronounce Serbian very well. You have to admit that everyone can learn writing for one hour. Write as you speak, read as it is written !!! 😀 Very easy rule.
    P.S. Start watching our cartoons.. 🙂

     
    • cather76

      May 14, 2012 at 8:15 pm

      hhahaha.. thanks sestro… i know.; i am just lazy and take advantage of all the Serbs that speak English…

       
  3. bozojovicic

    May 14, 2012 at 9:02 pm

    Well, this is an excellent opportunity to promote my web site 🙂 and it might help you a lot http://www.srpskibre.com/translation.srb

     
    • cather76

      May 14, 2012 at 10:59 pm

      awesomeeeeeeeeee.. let me check it out, my friend

       
  4. Dejan Milovanov

    May 14, 2012 at 9:19 pm

    Get lessons man, it’s the easiest way! 😉

     
    • cather76

      May 14, 2012 at 10:58 pm

      i know bro.. but i know i will bomb them!!! ahahha

       
  5. Dragan

    May 21, 2012 at 6:24 am

    Ne brini se braće, ti češ naučiti naš jezik vrlo brzo, samo moraš se potrudit 😉

     
  6. Mario

    June 10, 2012 at 1:16 am

    Charles, I don’t know your music taste, but it should be nice to write a word or two about awesome rock scene Serbia had in 80s, especially new wave. Hits like “Niko kao ja” (No one like me) or “Krokodili dolaze” (Crocodiles are coming) or Klinicki mrtav – Novogodisnja (the New Year’s song). It is the finest of Serbian rock music culture. Too bad we came up today with this barges’ bull***. I know there’s a language barriere but the music rocks!

     
    • cather76

      June 13, 2012 at 12:03 am

      i like rock-n-roll.. i listened to a few serbian bands and really liked the rock stuff.. i am very open to all kinds and have sampled plenty.. thanks for the tips..

       
  7. Irena Kinetica

    July 9, 2012 at 1:08 am

    I was teaching my friend from UK, he was pretty talented to catch up with Serbian but when we finally met, it was not so great. Anglo-Saxons can`t roll some vocal over tongue and that`s it.
    I also felt awkward not catching his Yorkshire accent, but it was funny. No wonder you hardly get it, just change every word through seven cases and it will certainly kill the will to learn Serbian xD
    After three days i finally got his Yorkshire accent…somehow. Remembering his mother saying to him “honey you must talk Queen`s English with her”. Queen`s English is sort of what we learnt in school, to be precise we learnt according to Cambridge or Oxford method (not knowing how it is now), so when we met he told me it is southern English or Londoner or in slang “posh”. That`s true about schools and languages, English is mandatory and these above you mentioned are common. No chance to get job even simple one without knowing basic English. In primary school i have had German from the second grade and English from 5th grade. But it was a loooong time ago. Now i am all into learning Scots but northern east, Doric and Gaelic. Scots talk like we do, pretty much talking as it is written xD and plus it is extremely funny language. Have a luck with Serbian, you will need it. 😀
    Aye that`s true about kids knowing English so early, mine learnt through my convo with other English speaking people and of course cartoons! They are only 4 and 5 years old….

     

Leave a Reply

 
