RSS

I AM NOT A SPY!!!!

19 Mar

 

The life of a spy must be very exciting! I remember when I was a child watching James Bond and dreaming of being a spy. I never dreamed I would be accused and perceived as a spy…..A lot of it is in jest but I would hate to end up in some secret Serbian “political prison”!

When I first came to Zrenjanin… i lived out by bolnica or the hospital in English… I went to this little barber shop once a week to get my hair cut. The two ladies didn’t speak English but were very friendly!! The lady always tried having a conversation with me but I only understood a few words.. My constant line was ” Ne razumem nista!” Or I dont understand anything.. ahhahahaha… She would always point and make gestures with her hands… She would also have a shot of rakjia waiting for me at the conclusion of the haircut… One day her son was in there and he speaks PERFECT English… I asked him ” what is your mom always saying to me?” He said ” She wants to know if you are a spy?” ahhahahahahah…

One another occasion .. I was chatting on Facebook chat with a student from one of the local schools… He asked me to get on chat because he had a question about English… I added him on Skype and called him.. We spoke for a few minutes and then he said ” I must go! My mom said not to trust you because you are probably a spy!” 🙂

Many others have sent me messages on Skype, Facebook or Youtube asking me questions and wondering WHY I AM HERE!! Many have a hard time believing I came here because I wanted to …. 😉 Most recently a lady accused me of living with a member of some Hungarian nationalist organization… It was funny for awhile but it does start to get scary!!! What if some high up government official hears this and has me arrested and hidden away without any representation… I am writing this in case I end up “M.I.A” ……  My friend MARKO made this funny little cartoon that I just had to share….. 

I had a hard time understanding the SPY mentality until a few Serbian buddies sent me this classic Serbian comedy from 1984!! It is called “BALKANSKI SPIJUN” or “BALKAN SPY”…. It is a HILARIOUS comedy that can be found on Youtube with English subtitles! You must watch it!!!  It is about a guy named Ilija that has a boarder renting a room in his home. A government official has called him to his office asking questions about this boarder that has recently returned from many years of living in Paris! It shows the paranoia that Ilija goes through in trying to prove this guy is a spy! ONE OF THE FUNNIEST MOVIES I HAVE EVER SEEN!!!!

Once again I will tell the world….. ” I AM NOT AN AMERICAN SPY!!!!” 😉

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 19, 2012 in Through my eyes

 

Tags: , , , ,

5 responses to “I AM NOT A SPY!!!!

  1. jj

    March 20, 2012 at 12:55 am

    The area has a long history of being inundated with spies, and a lot of the foreign people there have been spies in some capacity. It’s said that the OSCE people who were in Serbia and Kosovo before the NATO bombing were scoping out places for NATO to bomb. These people were withdrawn just before NATO started bombing. What’s notable is that many of the refugee centers in Kosovo (composed of Serbian refugees from Bosnia and Croatia – though most of those refugees were in other places of Serbia, so they weren’t the least disproportionately distributed to Kosovo as some claim) were heavily bombed from the start, and these places were well-known to the foreign visitors who were seen around the centers several times (William Walker, U.S. diplomat and head of the Kosovo Verification Mission, for instance).
    Also, many journalists, aid workers (for instance the Australian CARE worker who later, after being back in Australia, admitted he was in fact spying in Serbia during the NATO bombing), “charity”/religious workers/groups, medical workers, etc. were spying or doing double duty with their spying and propaganda (journalists) – sometimes even triple duty when some of them actually participated in the fighting as paramilitaries/mercenaries.
    But you obviously are a real friend and don’t work for any foreign media nor meddling “charity” or religious groups – you are independent. Tell the Serbs that and maybe it will calm their paranoia.

     
    • cather76

      March 20, 2012 at 1:54 pm

      wow.. i had no idea!!!! thanks for the info and your time… i appreciate it!

       
  2. Igor The Serb

    March 23, 2012 at 7:19 pm

    I’ve always thought you were a marine or an american soldier. Thanks for so much respect for my country, at first I thought all north americans are bad, but since i left serbia, a canadian became my best friend…

     
    • cather76

      March 26, 2012 at 2:44 pm

      hi buddy… thanks for the message… ahhahah.. nope.. i have never been in the military… my father was and my sister was but not me… thanks again

       
  3. Pete Busarac

    April 14, 2012 at 5:30 am

    I guarantee you Charles is not an American spy. The American goverment would never let one of their spies drink that much rakija and then have him report his findings back to his government. You saw what happen when US spies reported in 2003 that Iraq had stockpiles of weapons of mass destruction. They made President Bush look like a fool when our military went in there and found nothing. Never again. The American spies in Iraq must have been loaded on the distilled alcohol Arak which is the drink of choice there in Iraq. It’s strong ,clear, colorless, unsweetended and is made from anis seeds which gives it a liquorice,fennel or tarragon flavor. Nothing more dangerous than a drunk spy. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
