RSS

Three more tell Angelina Jolie “You don’t speak for me!”

19 Jan

I have had a HUGE amount of support on my last post!! I am getting many people that are HAPPY to share their “Serbian story!”  We will keep this up!! I hope to start a book and a documentary in the near future!! We will discredit this rich, clueless, movie star!!!

My first story comes from another American from Pennsylvania! Her name is Shaina and she is currently married to a Serb and residing in Pennsylvania. She is a fitness instructor that first encountered a Serb on a cruise ship! Here is her story!!

 “I love, love, love Serbia! I met my husband, and many other ex-Yougoslavs working on a cruise ship! Before that I’m not sure if I have ever heard of Serbia. I was attracted to this wonderful group of people becuase I was sick of the fakeness from “friends” in the Entertainment department. These people were always together laughing, yelling, singing, drinking, and having FUN! On the ship they were all brothers!

I came home from the cruise ship in love! We kept our relationship going and it came time for me to go to Serbia. My mother was a wreck! My grandmother thought they were in war, and that there were Russian tanks stationed there (she watches fox news), and I had NO IDEA what I was getting myself into! But it didn’t matter to me, I came to know my Serbian friends better than some of my friends at home, and I trusted them!  Yes, I am a little bit crazy! 

My first visit to Serbia was AMAZING! So much culture, food, friends, family. I always felt like I belonged, like i was family! Besides the language barrier, no one ever treated me like a foriegner or an American, always like I was one of them.

Its a different way of life there! People appreciate the simpler things. It still amazes how the majority of people make $500 a month, work a lot, and still make time to see friends and can go out and enjoy their weekends and not think about the money or the lack of time. In Serbia your friends are your friends for life. There are more important things then the she said he said crap.

I love Serbia and would LOVE to move there with our daughter when the time is right!”

AWESOME!!! LOVE IT!! Thanks for your respect!!!

The next story is from a small town kid named Michael from South Dakota. He came to Serbia in the spring of 2008. He was backpacking around Europe and ran into a Bosnian Serb… that invited him to Bosnia and to see his family in Serbia..

” My first encounter with Serbia came while I was backpacking through Romania. I had came from France and hitchhiked and traveled through many countries on my way to see Draculas castle… I intentionally avoided all of those media labeled countries of the former Yugoslavia because everything i had read said “its not safe, they hate everyone that is not pure serb, its a war zone, they will sacrifice me to their evil god, etc..” While in Romania I encountered a couple fun loving people. We started talking and they told me they were born in Bosnia but 100% Serb! I didnt know much about Bosnia except that the Serbs had “killed THOUSANDS of innocent people”.. I said ” wow.. is it true that its a war zone and no foreigner is welcome in the former Yugoslavia?” they told me it was all B.S.. I really didnt believe them but they told me they would pay my bus ticket if I went back to their hometown of Sarajevo, Bosnia with them.. I thought for a few minutes.. I didnt want to call home and tell mom that i was going to “HELL”… I finally agreed and then regretted my decision.. We arrived after a long bus trip and “WOW!!! I was totally taken back by the beauty of Bosnia!” It was scenic and everyone we encountered was sooo kind and welcoming…. It blew me away! I had the same experience as you with rakija… i had not heard of it but after the initial shock of its STRENGTH i grew to love it! We stayed at his families for 3 days and then was off to “Land of HATE, TERROR and DEATH” or Serbia! He had family in a place called Novi Sad….. Serbia was nothing like i had pictured. It was scenic, green, many fields full of crops, small cars and kind people! We get to Novi Sad and I was blown away!!!! It was GORGEOUS!!! I pictured bombed buildings, dirt, pollution, mean, angry people” but ran into nothing but beauty, generous people and some great food!!! I watched your videos and everything you said was SO true!! The food is amazing and the beer was remarkable! The people we met were kind, sincere and honest! They told me ” we hate your government but have no problems with any of your people”… I really enjoyed my stay in Serbia and Bosnia! Charles, I know you have not been there yet but you MUST!! Its gorgeous and CHEAP!!  I didnt mention going to Serbia and Bosnia till i arrived back at home. My parents were ANGRY!!! They said ” you could have been killed or taken hostage” they, like many others thought serbia and bosnia were war zones and unsafe.. I am from South Dakota, which has almost ZERO crime but felt safer there that I do here!!  It was great to watch your videos on Serbia.. I should have done the same thing but was lazy!… thanks for showing the truth! they are great people!!”

Thanks Michael.. that was great!!!!!

The next one is from a musician that has traveled to manyyy countries in the world! He is from Italy and has a great Serbian story!!! His name is Francesco and he is a very talented musician.. Show him some love by liking his fan page at http://www.facebook.com/pages/Francesco-Angiuli-fan-page/181231011897720

What do I think about Serbia?
Well, I was born in a country where the people don’t even know exactly what Serbia is or where it is.
At the same time they ignore the difference between Croatian, Serbians, Bosnians and they still wonder if the
war is still going on.I feel so bad when I have to explain this kind of things to the people and even more
when I hear that the only things they know about Serbia are not true, cause they heard a big ammount of
fake news from the tv.
This Tv in our Western countries is a big responsable of a process who is making the people more and more
stupids and unable to thing with their own minds.If they would spend half of the time they spend in front of
the tv travelling around the globe, we wouldn’t have all this ignorance which nowdays is killing the whole
system.
I feel lucky to be a professional musician, cause I have been able to see everything only by my eyes.
I have been traveling a lot and I am sure that I will never stop with this kind of life, since I love to feel
myself as a world’s citizen.
I came to Serbia for the first time in 2008, to see a friend who I meet in Montenegro after one of my concerts
on a tour with the Croatian singer Vesna Pisarovic, an ex pop star who used to study jazz in the I
same Conservatory as me. I don’t know if this is a coincidence but this conservatory was in The Hague, the
most unfriendly city for a Serbian lover as me.
Thanks to Vesna I was several times in the countries of Ex Yu, but unfortunately it never happened to be
invited in Serbia, even tought Vesna is married with a Serbian guy and she used to be pretty popoular there in
the ’90.
So, since the music didn’t give me this chance to visit Serbia, I decided to go there by myself, to make a
vacation and meet this lovely young woman who was at the moment studing in Belgrade.
In a few hours I could understand how interesting this country is and how warm and gentle those people are,
despite the difficoult situation they had.
It’s still hard for me not to feel guilty for what happened in 1999, when NATO, Italy included, decided to
show off that they can do whatever they want.
I started to feel more and more attached to this land and to this people and it came naturally in me the desire
to get as much informations as I could whatching serbian movies, documentaries, reading book about history,
politic and litterature.
Now is much easier to me to figure out how many lies we heard on the tv, from the newspapers and for this
reason I started to make an opposite propaganda among all the people I know.
I made many of my friends curios about Serbia and I am sure that if one day some of them we’ll ever get
there, they will never blame me, since I told the only the truth.
People, food, landskape, sport, everything is really on top; this is what I tought at the beginning and this is
what I still believe after almost four years of visits to the country.
You can’t immagine how happy I become noticing from youtube that there are several people that things as I
do, and specially what Charles Cather is doing makes my hart full of joy.
These people deserve much better reputation than they have as for the Country which is gorgeus and full of
History.
What can I say….I am more than 100% sure that one day I will live in Serbia.
ZIVELI!!”

GREAT WORDS, BROTHER!!!!!

Angelina, looks like we have a lot of people that don’t see Serbia in the same light you do!!!! Maybe you should come and see the “other side” that you dont hear about in the main stream media!!!!  MORE TO COME!!

 
14 Comments

Posted by on January 19, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

14 responses to “Three more tell Angelina Jolie “You don’t speak for me!”

  1. Nikola

    January 19, 2012 at 9:01 pm

    Hi
    I really enjoy reading these stories becouse i dont know ANYBODY foreign and i think it is important to bring a little non-serbian mentality.I like reading your Blog but it would be AWESOME if you started Vlogging(you could show us some great places in Zrenjanin and much more…)
    As for Angelina Jolie this is just a cheep trick to get attention for her new movie(she invested $13 million and got only $130.000+ so dont worry about that BIT*H )

    With love,Nikola 😀

     
    • cather76

      January 20, 2012 at 11:15 am

      hvala brate.. you are the man… we should have a pivo sometime… take care and thanks for reading..

       
  2. kecman

    January 19, 2012 at 10:52 pm

    i don’t know how often i told you on facebook .. but we can’t do enough .. thank you for everything Charles! you don’t know how much i appreciate you .. i think it’s time for you to come to Vienna to meet us 😛 .. or maybe i’ll to Zrenjanin 😛

    i hope you understand the next phrase ..

    Živ ti meni bio 100 godina!

     
    • cather76

      January 20, 2012 at 11:18 am

      respect right back to ya.. you are the man.. thanks for reading

       
  3. Rade ParadoxGentleman

    January 19, 2012 at 10:54 pm

    Charles” I`m very glad to read your blog, have read everything 🙂

    btw, you`re last line must be corected, insted “other side” write “dark side” (of the force) 😀

    just a joke 🙂

    Cheers ^_^

     
    • cather76

      January 20, 2012 at 11:17 am

      hahhha… good tip… love ya bro.. thanks for reading

       
  4. Milena

    January 20, 2012 at 10:51 am

    Thank tou, Charles… God bless you, you will always be welcome here…

     
    • cather76

      January 20, 2012 at 11:07 am

      hvala puno.. i appreciate your kindness…

       
  5. sunnygirl

    January 21, 2012 at 1:40 am

    are you having pivo only with people that agree with you:):):)?

     
    • cather76

      January 21, 2012 at 4:16 pm

      hahahahahaha.. no… believe me… i have had a pivo with many people that hate me!!!! ahahaha

       
      • sunnygirl

        January 21, 2012 at 4:47 pm

        good to know:):):):)

         
  6. Ana

    February 4, 2012 at 8:41 pm

    Thank you, Charles, once again for doing this. I just hope that we are going to be able to get out of the shadows… some day…

     
    • cather76

      February 5, 2012 at 7:26 pm

      you will, girl!!!! it is bound to happen!!! thanks for readin!!

       
  7. Proforserbs

    January 24, 2014 at 8:50 am

    Keep up the good work! I hope it continues. It’s 2014 and most of the posts are from 2012.

     

Leave a Reply

 
