RSS

How I fell in love with Serbs….. true story…

11 Jan

When I was here last year… my buddies drove me from Zrenjanin to Pirot! It was a beautiful trip! The Serbia that I had pictured in mind was a dirty, smelly, war zone! The TRUE Serbia was green, fertile soil, hills, streams, and happy, friendly people!!!

I arrived in Pirot to meet my Facebook buddies. They treated me like a king!! One of them made me some handmade wooden gifts… they gave me some t-shirts, etc! They had an “odd” accent… according to my Zrenjanin buddies.. hahahah.. But they were SOOOOO kind to me!! I slept in their home and on one occasion … had the mother crying because she heard I was drinking pivo with some people that were questionable!! WOW!!!! They treated me like their own son!

I left Pirot after traveling to Nis, Blache, etc!!!! Very beautiful cities with GREAT people!!! I can’t wait to get back down there!!

I had to take a bus from Pirot to Nis and then to Belgrade. I get to the Belgrade bus station and go up to the window. I reach down for my wallet and IT WAS GONE!!!! My cellphone was gone too! OMG!!! I was terrified!! I am an American … stuck without money or my friends phone numbers!!!! I had images of being cut to bits and pieces by some nationalistic, NATO hating hooligans!!! :)… I about started to cry.. it was scary!!! I went out to some payphones to try and call my dad in the USA! I picked up the red payphone and it started blabbing at me in Serbian! I was like “Shit, I dont even know how to make a phone call!!!” I carried my two suitcases a few meters and saw this young man and young lady. I went up them and said “govorim engleski?” or “do you speak English?” The guy quickly responded “Of course!” I said “THANK GOD” I told him of my problem with calling my father. He said “you must purchase a phone card.” I said ” i have no money” he said ” I would love to buy one for you!!!” He went to a traffica and bought me a phone card and helped me call my father. Illinois is 7 hours behind Serbia and I woke my dad from sleep. I told him ” I am stuck in Belgrade and need money” He said “Ok, I thought you were going to have some issues” He sent me $1000 dollars and the kid walked with me to the Western Union. Him and his girl taking my bags from me! I told them “NO!!” They insisted!! I felt like a king on the red carpet!! They missed their bus and waited with me for one hour! I got my money and threw $100 at him and he threw it back. He said ” I don’t want your money… i just wanted to help you” I was speechless and in shock!! I am in a country that the people are suppose to HATE me and want to slit my throat!!! I insisted and he kept saying “NOOOO” I gave him a hug and kiss and said “you saved my life!!!” I was almost moved to tears by his actions! i got my ticket and returned to Zrenjanin … got my bags and lefft Serbia! I arrived back in the USA and told people that EVERYTHING we heard about Serbs being “brutal, mean, hateful, selfish, genocidal, evil people” was all TOTAL BULLSHIT!!!! Serbs have very little money but would go out of their way to help ANYONE!!! My boss shook my hand when I returned to work and said ” YOU ARE STILL ALIVE????!!!!” Its sad what the world has done to the good name of the Serbian people!!!!!!

SERBIANS ARE AMAZING!!!!!! DON’T LISTEN TO ANY OF THAT CRAP!!!! I AM NOT GETTING PAID TO SAY THIS, WRITE THIS OR TO LIVE HERE!!! I am doing it because I love it here and have been shown nothing but love by people that have suffered for years! I owe the Serbs some respect and want to show the rest of the world the TRUTH!!!! SERBIA IS SAFE!!!! I feel safer walking here at 2 am than I would in Chicago, St Louis or any major US City!

THANKS TO ALL OF YOU!!!!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on January 11, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

7 responses to “How I fell in love with Serbs….. true story…

  1. Milja

    January 15, 2012 at 10:28 am

    I like your blog verry much! I am from Serbia, Nis and i read all your posts and it is impresing how american can like serbia so much πŸ™‚

     
    • cather76

      January 15, 2012 at 12:44 pm

      hi there… thanks a million for reading it.. it means a lot… NIS ROCKS!!!

       
  2. Kosovo is serbia

    June 12, 2012 at 10:58 pm

    Thank you very much keep on telling people serbia rocks!!!

     
    • cather76

      June 13, 2012 at 12:02 am

      haah.. you are very welcome.. nema na cemu.. thanks for reading, my friend

       
  3. Eric Casteel

    August 20, 2013 at 9:21 pm

    This is my virtual experience with friends on FB. In two weeks, I will finally be there to visit! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    I cannot agree with what you have written here more, from my perceptions so far.

     
  4. lgrkinja

    September 27, 2014 at 5:57 pm

    Your blog is awesome. Thanks for writing it! Dying to go to Serbia. Heard so many wonderful things. Please keep writing so people know what to visit, see, & experience in Serbia πŸ™‚

     
  5. Nicole Pytell

    July 10, 2015 at 11:58 pm

    I love this post.. I traveled to Serbia in February for work and everyone I know were like “Be careful… it’s dangerous over there”. I think they’re all idiots! I freakin’ love Serbia! I did not have one bad experience and the people are amazing. I have a very special place in my heart for Serbia.

     

Leave a Reply

 
