RSS

Zrenjanin… former industrial hub of Yugoslavia

16 Dec

Zrenjanin, Serbia is the 5th largest city in Serbia. It was formerly known as Beckerek until the reign of Tito in 1945. The city has had had man years of foreign occupiers. Hungary, Turkey and the Germans to name a few. During the reign of Tito…. Zrenjanin was a very powerful industrial city with many factories, jobs and a high standard of life. it is located in the autonomous region of Vojvodina  about 1.5 hours West of Belgrade, Serbia. It is makes for easy access to Hungary, Romania, Croatia and Bosnia.

Today Zrenjanin is a beautiful, quite, tranquil town over close to 100,000 residents. It is surrounded by many little villages that make Zrenjanin a busy center for politics, agriculture, business and occupations. Zrenjanin is still a very industrial center for Northern Serbia. It boats many large businesses such as…

A shipbuilding company, train manufacturer, BMW autopart supplier , radiator company, Djimante is one of the largest food production companies in the region. It would be a great location for any inspiring business mind with easy access to all major points in Serbia.

My favorite thing about Zrenjanin has to be the numersous cafes and friendly people. I can say with pride that I have over 200 good friends in this town and that number is always growing. In the summer and spring the center of the city is full of life with many cafes full of customers out for a quick coffee of a chat with friends…

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 16, 2011 in Through my eyes, USA vs Serbia

 

4 responses to “Zrenjanin… former industrial hub of Yugoslavia

  1. Dragana

    January 22, 2012 at 5:51 pm

    …I live in Novi Sad, and recently spent nearly four months in Zrenjanin building a supermaket there…and having known the town, I was still amazed with the passion you have for this place and it’s people… never, in a million years, would I guess that it takes a “Yank” to remind me of who I am, and make me proud of where I come from all over again… Thanks! I really needed that!

     
    • cather76

      January 22, 2012 at 7:02 pm

      what an awesome comment…. i will share it on my facebook page.. thanks a million for making me smile..

       
  2. Dean (Milos) Clay

    August 9, 2012 at 11:11 pm

    Sir…Thank you…I’m from Texas, spent 7 yrs in Iraq as a contractor..the last 3 yrs I worked with Serbs and after being invited to Zrenjanin to a friends wedding I also fell in love with the country and the people. I kept a flat in Novi Sad for 2 yrs and spent all of my leave time there until Jan 2011. Everything you say is absolutely true, wish I had met you when I was there.

     
  3. Jovan

    May 12, 2014 at 9:10 pm

    It’s sad to say that many residents of Zrenjanin show their simpathy to strangers but not among themselves. So, strangers make impression that residents of Zrenjanin are friendly, open-hearted, good-mood …etc. The relationships among residents od Zrenjanin are so terrific. Unfortunately, there are so many hypocrisies, envies, jealousies and other bad sides of human natures. It’s a consciousness of babbitrz.

     

Leave a Reply

 
